Watercolor, 9 x 12

Fall is in the air, with leaves changing into warm colors, the weather is turning cooler and breezy, and the pumpkins are growing out of every, single patch in the garden spots! 🍁🍂🎃😊 And yet, the month of September is about to reach its long farewell, and we’ll be saying hello to the world of October, and for that, it’s time for another new Watercolor of the Month coming at The Autistic Animator’s Desk!

So, what happens whenever one month reaches the end, and then, we welcomed the next month every once in the year? Well, if that’s the case, in this blog, you’ll get to revisit any one of my watercolor drawing/illustration collections! Every late week of the month, I would pick and choose one of the best pieces I’ve worked on from the past or present, and write down about this drawing, and sharing each process in making of it. Today, we are up to number forty-three!

The watercolor drawing that I have chosen for the forty-third Watercolor of the Month topic for September 2022 is a fan art illustration from one of my favorite classic novels, Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery.

Here, you’ll see Anne Shirley enjoying and loving the beauty of the autumn season, wandering around the fall landscape outside from Green Gables, located in Avonlea at Prince Edward Island. This was taken at the beginning of the sixteenth chapter of Anne of Green Gables, just before we get a funny scene with Anne’s friend, Diana Barry, who accidentally gets drunk for drinking Marilla Cuthbert’s current wine, instead of raspberry cordial. It now sets in October, and Anne speaks to Marilla on how she feels so happy about living in that month, as well as for both September and November, just expressing her unique love for the autumn season:

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers. It would be terrible if we just skipped from September to November, wouldn’t it?” (Chapter 16, Anne of Green Gables)

It was first presented on this blog last year on October 21st, and on the same day, it became the 240th post to be shared here on The Autistic Animator’s Desk. This was the next fall project for me to work on, after I have done a small fall watercolor painting that I also shared on this blog called Autumn Joy, in which you can check it out in the link down below, for anyone who has not seen it, yet. Please feel free to. At the end of that topic of the Anne in Autumn topic, I wrote the announcement on finishing the full-length Harry Potter Halloween fan art project on Lupin’s werewolf transformation from Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and I was saving it to be published on Halloween, in which you can also find the illustrations on this blog, too.

The beginning of the artwork was by doing a rough pencil sketch of Anne trying to catch the little autumn leaf, drawn in pencil on a printed-copy paper. This became my guide to draw Anne in this very pose for the actual watercolor drawing, as I started to work on the first section of this project; light sketching the whole drawing and cleaning up the lines with the black ink pen; the red outline was for Anne’s braided hair and the orange for the pumpkin sitting on top of the stump. The goal was to create the fall landscape outside from Green Gables as beautiful as you could ever experience the beauty of the season. Just seeing nothing but bright, cheerful, and wonderful colors of yellow, orange, and red, mixed and blended together like how you would see any beautiful landscape paintings.

Going on to painting, thanks to the work of my watercolor pencil sets, I would start out with Anne, her basketful of apples, and the little leaves fall by her, painted in yellow and orange. After painting Anne and the little leaves, I can work on painting the background, one step at a time. The first half I painted were the birch trees, one wooden tree with yellow and orange leaves, a rock standing behind the left birch tree, and the pumpkin and stump. Second half were the full set of autumn trees behind the fence post, though I had to draw them before painting, only because I didn’t draw anything to be behind the fence post, didn’t know what to draw on that spot. But thankfully, the autumn trees setting looks much better, and it gives the sense of beauty for the drawing. And finishing off was painting the grass and the walking trail – and the scene comes to life!

To learn more information of this beautiful Anne of Green Gables fall drawing, you can find it on the topic, titled: Anne in Autumn (“Anne of Green Gables”) (watercolor, 2021).

Speaking a little bit on Harry Potter, I will be posting the first two of the Harry Potter Halloween fan art, starting with the digital drawing artwork I illustrated from The Prisoner of Azkaban, and it will be published on Monday, October 3rd. Then, we will move on to the watercolor fan art I illustrated from The Sorcerer’s Stone coming soon. If you have not seen the topic on any of these upcoming Harry Potter Halloween fan art drawings, please check it out, titled: Two Upcoming Harry Potter Halloween Fan Art Projects.

Enjoy the fall season, fellow kindred spirits! 🧡

Link:

4 responses to “Watercolor of the Month 43: Anne in Autumn (“Anne of Green Gables”) 🍂”

  1. Rhonda Avatar
    Rhonda

    Beautiful 🤩

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Emmy Pflugh Avatar
  2. Clare Avatar

    I’m so glad you chose to remind us of your painting of Anne to help us welcome in the new month and new season. I think you have captured the Fall/Autumnal colours beautifully. I too loved the Anne of Green Gables books when I was young. Anne is such an admirer of the wonders of nature so is the perfect choice to welcome in October. The scene where Anne holds a sophisticated teaparty for Diana and accidentally mixes up the cordial with Marilla’s medicinal Currant Wine is one of my favourites. Thanks for reminding me of that too and for making me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emmy Pflugh Avatar

      Aww thank you! 🥰😊🍁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Hi, everyone! I’m Emmy, and welcome to my blog!

Come check out and see my fun collection of art, drawings, animation, fan art, paintings, illustrations, and learn about autism!