Yes!!! It is finally happening, at last! 😃

I can’t tell you how very exciting I am to share you two of my new Disney fan art drawings that’s coming here on today’s new topic! I hope you’ll find this character recognizable, but for me, she happens to be one of my top favorite Disney villains of all time, and to give you all an introduction, this is Yzma, the main antagonist from Disney’s funniest animated film, The Emperor’s New Groove (2000). If you have been following this blog, I have mentioned to you all from the previous topic, where I shared of all of my four Lumiere fan art drawings from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast (1991), that the next Disney fan art I’ll be doing on is Yzma from The Emperor’s New Groove and do a watercolor drawing. Well, it’s here, at last!

I think this is will be a very fun, wonderful topic, not only because I get to share you all of my very first of Yzma and Yzma Cat fan art drawings I ever done for this year, and even though I am a huge fan of this movie, but they also happened to be my second Emperor’s New Groove fan art I ever done, right after my first two drawings I did with my very first drawings with Kuzco and Kuzco Llama from two years ago, also in watercolor. If you wanted to see two of my Kuzco watercolor drawings, as well as the 16th Watercolor of the Topic with the Emperor Kuzco watercolor fan art I posted it from last June 2020, you can find each of the topics, along with the Lumiere fan art topic, in the link down below at the end of this topic. With that, this is gonna be all about Yzma, so gather around and strap yourselves, it’s gonna be quite a ride and it’ll be a blast!

Let’s talk about the character history of Yzma first, before we can move on to the drawings and talking about the process for each. I honestly love Yzma!!! She is one of my favorite Disney villains, and she is super funny, besides Kuzco and Kronk, her henchmen. She was voiced by Eartha Kitt, and supervising animator is Dale Baer. I would rank Yzma as number two for my Disney villain favorites countdown, just because she is so delightfully hilarious, and every time I watch this movie and even with Yzma scenes, I just laugh and laugh. Eartha Kitt just nails it, when it comes to do the voice of this female baddy, and her lines are just unforgettable. This movie is filled up with so many quotes that you can’t help it but memorizing the lines. Thanks to having an echolalia as part of my autism, this is one of the Disney movies I would enjoy quoting so many times, and never get tired of it. If you a true Emperor’s New Groove fan, of course you’ll be definitely quoting a lot of lines, especially the Yzma lines that are just outrageously iconic:

“Pull the lever, Kronk! WRONG LEVER!!! Why do we even had that lever?”

“Oh, I know! I’ll turn him into flea, a harmless little flea. Then, I’ll put that flea in a box, and I’ll put that box inside of another box, and I’ll mail that box to myself! And when it arrives, HAHAHAHA, I’LL SMASH IT WITH THE HAMMER!!”

“What? A llama?! HE’S SUPPOSE TO BE DEAD!”

“Take him out of town, and finish the job!”

“Well, he ain’t getting any deader! Back to work!”

Pacha’s wife asking Yzma, “So remind me again for how you are related to Pacha?” “Well, I am his third cousin’s brother’s wife’s great-niece’s step-aunt. Twice removed.”

When Yzma is turned into a cat, looking directly at the camera, asking, “Is that my voice? Is that my voice?!” 😂

Of course, you can never forget the cute and funny scene with Yzma turning into a cat, and her voice becomes squeaky, kitten sound that it’s just so funny! It was a lot of fun working on both Yzma and Yzma Cat watercolor drawings as one of the main projects to work on this summer. As you can see, I did make a couple of Yzma drawings approaching a lot like how I did for two of my first Kuzco drawings, both emperor and llama, but there’s a little bit of difference. So I hope you’ll find this topic as fun and interesting, along with the first two watercolor paintings, and this will make a great tribute to Yzma as one of Disney’s best villains in history of Disney animation.

Very First Yzma Sketch!

Before getting started on the actual fan artwork in watercolor medium, the first thing was to learn how to draw Yzma. “Living proof that dinosaurs once roam the earth”, to quote Kuzco from the beginning, where we first meet her.

This sketch is drawn in pencil on paper, although this wasn’t the original pose I drew for Yzma. Both of these watercolor drawings are actually drawn on front and back on the first page from my second new watercolor drawing pad. Originally, I drew Yzma in this similar pose, which she was holding the vile, but I think I made her holding it with her left hand, and putting her right hand onto her right side of her hip. It was already done in a very light sketching, from using my old VHS copy of The Emperor’s New Groove as reference to help me learn how to draw Yzma, and little bit of internet from my phone, but it didn’t work out. That was drawn on the very first page of the second drawing pad, but I took it out, and threw it away, and so that lead me to restart the sketch.

Instead of restarting it on the next page of the drawing pad, I just took a piece of paper, using Google images on the computer to find every Yzma pictures and screencaps I can find, along with the VHS copy, using them as reference as a guide, and go ahead and draw Yzma in a rough pencil sketch. This pose was a lot better than how I first started out, you can see that the real Yzma in this pose on what she represents as a character and a villainess.

It was very exciting to see the sketch, after it was done, since this is my very first pencil drawing of Yzma, and I can use this as the main model for the watercolor drawing later on.

💜 Yzma Watercolor Drawing💜

Here is the first part of a couple of main drawings of Yzma to be painted in watercolor, just way before working on Yzma Cat watercolor fan art. This is drawn on the front view on the first page from the second new drawing pad. Once the pencil sketch was done, I can go ahead and lightly sketch the exact same drawing from the sketch with the pencil, using that as a model.

After lightly sketching the entire rough drawing of Yzma holding the vile, wearing her fancy dining black gown with purple feathery collar on her neck in pencil, I can trace the light pencil lines with sharpie pens to clean up the drawing. The purple sharpie pen was the first one to use, because Yzma is all about purple, which I think it’s a great color representation on female villains, and Yzma is probably the third female Disney villain to have purple as the main color them, after Ursula from The Little Mermaid (1989) and Maleficent from Sleeping Beauty (1959). The purple lines was to trace around her face, neck, arms, hands, and half of her legs, because she has a hint of purple from the color of her pale skin, and also for the purple feathers on her collar. Along with purple, I used other colorful sharpie pens to add onto the drawing, such as violet-blue for the curly-top hat on top of Yzma’s head and her large circle-shaped earrings; black for her black dining gown, half bottom of her hat, eyes, long eyelashes, eyebrows, and two parts of the vile, like the glass tube and lid; and red for Yzma’s red painted fingernails and the outline of the vile potion since it’s pink.

From cleaning up to erase all of the pencil lines, I would go ahead and color the Yzma drawing, using the watercolor pencils with two combinations of old and new sets of each pencils. I think I did still use one of the images of Yzma on Google on the internet, so that way I can use the right colors the way she was designed for the film. Like I said, she is all about purple, which I colored around the background behind the drawing, and it really fits, because it’s part of the representation of Yzma as a villain. Each of the four main characters have color representations. Like Kuzco’s color theme is red, Pacha is green, Yzma is purple, and Kronk is blue. Colors are definitely important part of animation, so we can easily identify a color that represents a character, either it plays a role of a hero or villain.

And with the drawing all cleaned up and colored, now I can painted the entire artwork in full watercolor medium, starting with Yzma and painted the full purple background. Let it sit and dry for a while, and for final touches, I grabbed a purple sharpie pen, and wrote down Yzma’s name on the bottom left side. It was so exciting to see it done and finished, and it was very excited for me to see it, as an artist.

The first drawing was completed by June 25th, 2021.

🐱 Yzma Cat Watercolor Drawing 🐱

And now we move on to the second part of the double Yzma fan art, which is her already turned into a cat, holding a vile, as she was trying to take it away from Kuzco, during the final climatic fight on top of the palace. Another iconic Yzma moment, and it’s super funny, especially when she talks in that cute, squeaky voice as a little purple cat. Her eyes are very detailed, when she is turned into a cat. Those large violet-blue eyes!

I started to work on this drawing on a Friday morning, so nearly a month after finishing the first Yzma drawing. The Yzma Cat drawing is drawn on the back of the first drawing, and it was relieved that the pages from the second watercolor pad is made out of hard paper that way if you’re doing another watercolor painting from the back of the first one, the water and paint, even the pen lines won’t show bits of the outlines or smudges from behind it. What really helped me from learning how to draw Yzma as a little cat was looking at the screencaps on the internet from disneyscreencaps.com, using each images from scenes one by one, even in some close-up shots of Yzma Cat, that way I can captured the details and staying true to the same design the way she is as a cat from the film.

During the cleaning up drawing process, very much like the first Yzma drawing on the front side, I went back to use the purple sharpie pen to trace the light pencil sketching lines around Yzma’s fur since she is bright purple, and her ears, tail nose, mouth, throat, tongue, sharp teeth, and little whiskers. The violet-blue sharpie pen I used for tracing the violet-blue pupils for Yzma’s eyes; black lines for the eyes and eyelashes, and the glass tube and lid for the vile; and red lines for the potion inside.

Of course, I did use the combination of the first and second watercolor pencil sets to color the drawing before painting, which I meant for addressing each of the pencil sets as old and new, just in case if you all need help to understand it, so I hope it was helpful 😉 The last touch was coloring the background around Yzma Cat in purple, so it be connected to the first artwork.

Now that the Yzma Cat drawing is sketched, cleaned up in colorful sharpie pen lines, and colored with the pencil sets, I can go ahead and paint the entire drawing in watercolor medium. I paint the Yzma Cat and vile first, and the purple background last. This second part of the project didn’t took me too long to work on it, but it did took me most of the morning time to work on it, from start to finish. Either a way, it was a lot of fun!

The second drawing was completed by July 23rd, 2021.

Well, that’s that! I hope you all had a fun time reading and seeing couple of my Yzma watercolor fan art drawings in this topic. I really enjoyed working on both Yzma and Yzma Cat drawings, and painted them all in watercolor medium. Who doesn’t like to talk about Yzma? She’s awesome!

So now I’ll leave you all some questions: What are your favorite Yzma moments from Disney’s The Emperor’s New Groove? What is your favorite Yzma quote? Which one of the watercolor drawings is your favorite? Drawing #1? Or Drawing #2? And what is your all-time favorite Disney villain?

My favorite Disney villain is Jafar from Aladdin (1992), so I would rank him as number one in my favorite Disney villain countdown; Yzma is number two; and my third favorite is definitely Maleficent (can never forget her!). Please share your favorite Disney villain in the comment box down below.

Thanks, everyone! And see you on Thursday for the next new topic! Enjoy! 👋🏻

Link:

Leave a comment

Welcome to my home blog called The Autistic Animator’s Desk!

Come check out and see my fun collection of art, drawings, animation, fan art, paintings, illustrations, and learn about autism!